jump to navigation

Creativity, scientific writing, writers block and so on… July 22, 2007

Posted by vettithoughts in Misc., Science.
trackback

Creativity is defined as a mental process involving the generation of new ideas or concepts, or new associations between existing ideas or concepts (Wikipedia). I think coming up with a thought is easier than putting it on a paper or in this case typing it to give it a coherent and cohesive form. When I say coming up with a thought is easier, I am not disparaging the thought. God knows, I cannot come up with a He-She series or Terri’s blog the numerous flash fictions from Ammani or fiction from apu even if it came and bit me on the nose. Most of what these people write is something we can identify with and when we read it, we find ourselves nodding at every sentence amazed at the ability of the writer to string every day happening into pure poetry of words.

Forget writing fiction, for which one needs creativity. Scientific writing is supposed to be based on materials and methods, results and conclusion, all of which is present in front of you . All one needs to do is write an introduction and discussion to wind it up. And I find this, a herculean task . After all how difficult can it be to read numerous scientific literature and organize their thoughts around to come out with a decent introduction and discussion relevant to your paper. That is what people ask me all the time. I am at a loss to answer them. All my conclusions from the above mentioned ‘numerous literature’ can be summed up in two paragraphs, while I really need to fill nearly two and a half pages. I have been sitting on the discussion for the past one year. In addition to my innate laziness, I also find myself in a position of being unable to extrapolate anything beyond a point.

With few exceptions, most of the research performed towards obtaining a PhD degree, rarely ever sees the light after perhaps a couple of publications. While every grad student loves to imagine that his/her research is going to be the ‘one thing’ that will revolutionize the world of science, the sad truth is most of the data might not even be reproducible by a future grad student. So, with all these thoughts running in my mind, I am supposed to  feign excitement about my research and translate that into a paper, enlightening the scientific community of this finding.

Sigh! I never thought that scientific writing would be so difficult, despite being trained for that vocation for the past ten years. I wonder if my boss will accept the excuse of my having a writers block for my inability to come up with some kind of acceptable discussion.

Comments»

1. Visitor - July 26, 2007

Most of what these people write is something we can identify with and when we read it, we find ourselves nodding at every sentence amazed at the ability of the writer to string every day happening into pure poetry of words.
Very well put!

All my conclusions from the above mentioned ‘numerous literature’ can be summed up in two paragraphs, while I really need to fill nearly two and a half pages.
What you need to put in is a bit of english😉

While every grad student loves to imagine that his/her research is going to be the ‘one thing’ that will revolutionize the world of science,
I don’t know any grad student suffering from the illusion. When they set out to do research they probably do though!

2. Visitor - July 26, 2007

PS: I’ll be looking forward to some feedback on my comments, can I?🙂

3. vettithoughts - July 26, 2007

Thanks Visitor for stopping by my blog.
Yeah I know I need to ‘put in a bit of english’ as you say…still working on that.
We don’t suffer from that illusion because, we are pulled back to the earth within a year of grad school. All that matters at the end is get some decent results, publish and graduate.

🙂


Leave a Reply

